Energy Safe Victoria
Let's help you see the right content.

Please make a selection

We are using cookies.

Energy Safe Victoria uses cookies to help give you the best possible user experience. By continuing to browse this site you give consent for cookies to be used.


ESV becomes a Commission

On 1 January 2021 ESV became a three-person Commission, appointed under the Energy Safe Victoria Act 2005.

The Commission replaces the role of Director of Energy Safety and holds all the regulatory powers previously held by the Director.

The Commission is responsible for providing leadership and strategic guidance for ESV and leading its transformation as a modern, fit for purpose regulator, capable of effective, best practice regulation to achieve the highest standard energy safety outcomes for Victorians.

The Commission comprises:

  • Commissioner and Chair, Marnie Williams;
  • Commissioner and Deputy Chair, Michelle Groves; and
  • Commissioner, Sarah McDowell.

The Commission will be supported by five advisory committees and a CEO.

Read more on our Governance page.